My Zen Jiggles, Does Yours?

14 06 2008

There’s just something about panna cotta that I can’t say no to. Especially in the summer. Even more so if it is tea-infused. I came up with this recipe a while ago and haven’t made it since then, but I’m beginning to think that it’s time. A delicate blend of Asian-inspired flavors, this one is just something that you have to experience for yourself. Honestly it’s the most relaxing dessert I have ever eaten. The perfect ending to a light summer lunch, the exact opposite of the Chinese takeaway that I myself had. I can never refuse the spicy shrimp, it’s my weakness.

Jasmine Green Tea Panna Cotta

30 g gelatin powder
450 ml buttermilk
450 ml 35% cream
450 ml whole milk
230 ml clover honey
35 g loose jasmine green tea

Soften gelatin in a small amount of water.
Place buttermilk, cream, milk and honey into a medium saucepan.
Put tea into a tea ball or tie into a cheesecloth sachet and place into pot.

Bring cream to a simmer, whisking occasionally. When tea flavor has been infused sufficiently, remove tea ball.Stir in gelatin.
Chill mixture before molding, until it’s fridge temperature. Give it a good stir to make sure that any gelatin that may have settled at the bottom becomes reincorporated.
As you might tell from the photo above, if you forget this step, the gelatin settles at the bottom of the mold, and is not nearly as attractive.
Pour into greased molds and chill for 4 hours.

Lemongrass-honey sauce

125 ml white wine
80 ml water
250 ml clover honey
1 stalk lemongrass, trimmed and chopped into thirds.
100 g anjou pear parisienne. (about 2 pears)

Gently beat lemongrass pieces with the back of your knife to release the flavours.
Place lemongrass, wine, water and honey in a small saucepan and simmer.
Remove lemongrass once flavors have been imparted.
Poach pears in the syrup, remove pears.
Reduce syrup by 1/2.

Fried crepes

5 cooked crepes
confectioner’s sugar

Cut crepes into strips and deep fry until golden, turning if needed.
Dust with powdered sugar.

In other news: there was a cheese omlette, spicy shrimp and noodles, and a possible slurpee in my future. I promise to be more entertaining come Monday, when I audition an idea for Jack and Coke ribs. Fingers crossed that it plays out as well in reality as it does in my mind. I will need a lot of CCR for this. Wish me luck!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

