Chunky Guacamole Shrimp Salad

29 06 2008

For those of you who don’t know, I have a small obsession with tomato/avocado combinations. I put them on burgers, make sandwiches out of them, dip my nachos in them, and now I’ve harnessed their awesomeness in salad form.

I’m a little backwards sometimes. For the most part, when people are on a tight budget they cut back on their food choices and lean more towards nonperishables or starches, and when their fridge is empty on those days before grocery day, it usually houses condiments, milk, maybe eggs, and preserves. I, however, end up with an odder mish-mash of exotic vegetable scraps, fruits and cheeses. Like today, for example. Tomorrow is grocery day for me, and all I have in my fridge right now is buttermilk, olives, half of each an avocado, red onion, lemon and tomato, onion sprouts, feta cheese, some limp cilantro, and a laundry list of condiments. Though it may be harder to make a meal out of a combination of those things than say eggs, bread and cheese, I’m never discouraged. And have I mentioned yet that I LOVE tomato and avocado?

The only rational thing to do then was pounce upon them and fuse them together, yet again. But with what? I have no bread, no nachos, no burgers. I do, however, have feta, half a red onion, shrimp, and enough condiments to make any kind of dressing I can muster. So was born this guacamole salad. It was really refreshing, the kind of thing that you would want to eat outside. If it hadn’t have been for my guttersnipe of a downstairs neighbor, I just might have. Either way, this one is going into my frequent rotation for sure. Recipe to follow.

Chunky Guacamole Shrimp Salad
Serves one

13 peeled, deveined large shrimp
1/2 avocado, cut roughly
1/2 tomato, seeded and chopped into medium-sized chunks
1 slice of red onion, cut in half(sorry I don’t have a more accurate measurement)
1 tbsp feta cheese, crumbled

Dressing

Juice of half a lemon
1/4 tsp dijon mustard
pinch of salt
pinch of cumin
pinch of ancho chili powder
1 1/2 tbsp garlic olive oil

Poach shrimp for 3 minutes, drain and cool. Make dressing: whisk together lemon juice, dijon, and seasonings. Whisk in oil to emulsify. Toss shrimp with salad ingredients and dressing using spoons(I’m serious! Forks will turn it into an ugly mash.)

Also, here is a picture of the inside of yesterday’s strawberry cake. It tasted even better than it looked, and I am now quite high on my own sense of accomplishment. Please excuse my friend’s arm.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

