So I’ve Been A Little Bad

28 07 2008

I swear it’s been for the greater good though. Honest. Otherwise, how could extol the glories of this goat roti for you? Hmm? On my trip to Toronto, the first thing I did when I got in was to find some roti. I missed roti so much being up in the not-so-great white north, and the amazing goat roti I got from Real Jerk was almost enough to convince me to say damn all the waiting and move right back down ASAP. The meat was cooked so perfectly; if there is a place between rare and medium rare, that’s where goat heaven is. It was perfectly spiced–not too spicy but enough to remind you that it’s curry– and the potatoes and chickpeas were cooked excellently al dente. There aren’t enough words to tell you how good it was, but allow me to visually interpret it for you in drool. Really.

Oh, Thai Express, how I love thee. Thai Express is consistently my favorite fast food chain, period. And they just don’t have it up north. *Sigh* I recommend the shrimp pad thai; I must have had it at least four times in the week I was down south. I had big plans, oh yes! Big, big plans. I was going to go for class, for variety, for experience. But the beautiful succubus that is the Thai Express sunk her teeth in me and my old flame was re-kindled. I’m sorry, I am weak and she is strong.

I did, however, manage to make my way to Dufflet one day and pick up dessert. I apologize for the poor quality of the photo, but I was pretty excited to eat it. However, it was just okay. The bottom was a thin layer of chocolate sponge cake, topped with a layer of chocolate mousse, topped with a layer of raspberry mousse, and covered in dark chocolate. I was expecting something, I don’t know, more impressive. Though I’m aware that it’s not the kind of thing that just anyone can or is willing to make at home, it was the kind of thing that I could have done in an afternoon. There’s something about us culinary folks that demands a certain level of Oh My God factor in desserts and meals purchased at establishments of acclaim, and this didn’t do it for me. Don’t get me wrong, it was in fact good, but I would have rather just made it myself. More on that another day, because I just might…

And that’s that. I apologize for the lateness of this entry but I’ve been busy pretty much every day since I got back. I also went camping this weekend and damned if you can find a DSL connection in the woods. I did, however, cook in said woods, so hopefully tomorrow I’ll have regained my ambition and will let you all in on it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

