Pulse Stable, Patient Is Breathing

5 12 2008

c120408_1027_00

Tis the season to be busy, it seems. With a million things to do just to make sure that one stays alive and kicking with zero down time, what is a gal to do? In case you’re wondering, this is a short list of things that have happened since I last posted:

-Took my sick cat to the vet. Pancreatitis. $400.
-Cleaned apartment(and washed my sheets about 5 times) this week because Princess Shittybottoms and her disease have taken over my home.
-Handed out about 15 resumes around town and swallowed my very salty pride as I also applied at *chain* restaurants. I feel unclean.
-Finished my Christmas shopping and about half of my Christmas creating(ie: for those of you not on my expensive list)
-Wrote four new recipes that I’m DYING to try out. Oh the foot-tapping going on right now in anticipation of Christmas feasting, I tells ya!
-Finally, finally wrapped up my last lab before exam week starts. I can not WAIT until next semester. Chocolate shall bow to me, oh yes.

1114081139

So I can’t possibly be held responsible for the lack of posting and picture-taking, can I? Really now. In addition to the list, here are a few things I’ve done in class that I’m only just now pulling off of my phone, and a few from some outings dating back as far as August, I believe.

1016081308

Let it be known that I have an active hatred for the above mocha cake. Nothing to do with it’s difficulty but rather it’s ease and plainness.

1003081308

Lemon meringue pie, circa September 2008. *yawn*

c112108_1314_00

Ugly Yule log. May I just state, for the record, that I was FORCED into using those hideous meringue mushrooms, FORCED into making it shaped as such, and DENIED a cute little enchanted forest fairy and was instead pacified with the option of a butterfly. Which I mangled. Not my best work by any stretch. Que sera, sera.

c112608_1003_00

We were asked to make a large occasion cake for the school’s athletic association and so our chef told us to each make a piece of sporting equipment. My sense of humor being what it is, I made a jock strap. It was immediately repurposed into a football helmet after I got The Look. Some folks are just so uptight, amirite?

0904081653a

This is the famous finger injury I incurred while making that wedding cake a few months ago. Le ouch!

0724081826

From one of my patio adventures with the wonderful Mister Josh, in a place where cheese sticks are called Cheese Rockets and onion rings are called Glory Hoops. *Ahem*

c120408_1028_00

And yesterday’s chocolate-on-chocolate busy work. I actually love doing this because she allows us complete decorative control.

mustache

Theory class has never looked so dapper! Mmmyes, quite.

Not much else to report yet; there will be a post about chili in the near future and I bring you promises of Christmas candies aplenty. Other than that, have a happy Friday and try not to get eaten by bears.

Current earmeats: “In Da Ayer” by Flo-Rida. I have never been so ashamed of liking a song as much in my entire life but it’s so catchy, dagnabbit!

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 12 2008
Neil

Damnit Kelly you temptress, those look delicious. I’m in Tanzania, and you know, tasty food is a little difficult to find. I now have running water, a stove, and a little refrigerator, so I should be able to take care of myself. There is a nicely stocked supermarket nearby, which is leagues beyond the little stores with powdered milk and concentrated fructose drinks we had access to last year in Kenya. I made my inaugural post on my blog, I’m gonna try to keep it current and mayhaps interesting, but no promises. Say hello to my good friends in Sudbury, and I hope you get a job that deserves you!

7 12 2008
Bunny

Well I do try. Ummm I’m actually going to be going to my father’s for a few days soon and he lived there for two and a half years; if you want I could ask him if he has any suggestions as to where to shop or eat. I will certainly check out your site and will give a big hello on your behalf to everyone I see. : )

12 12 2008
Neil

Hey Kelly!
Mzungu means ‘white person’, which is pretty much the first word you learn. (plural: wazungu).
And actually last year me and Courtney visited Tanzania and spent a week on Zanzibar and managed to do the spice tour. It was really enjoyable, and at the end of it they served us a really really tasty meal and gave us the chance to buy some spices. I don’t remember seeing saffron though, but we did buy a bunch of different spices then (still have them, they’ve now aged a year and half :( ). You’d really enjoy the tour. If you ever get the chance to travel there, Zanzibar’s a really neat place to go.
Tell you what, if you remind me sometime in early-mid January, I’ll try and find some saffron for you and i’ll take it back and post it to Sudbury for you.

Leave a Reply

